41. The constitutions of the four provinces, viz., Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, which composed the Dominion in 1867 (when the Act of Confederation was passed), are the same in principle and details, excepting that Ontario and New Brunswick have only one chamber, a Legislative Assembly.

With respect to the provinces admitted since 1867, it may be said that the provisions of the Act of Confederation that applied to the original provinces were, as far as possible, made applicable to them. Manitoba was given a constitution similar to the other provinces, and it was expressly provided in the terms of the union with British Columbia that the Government of Canada would consent to the introduction of responsible government into that province, and that the constitution of the Legislature should be amended by making a majority of its members elective. Immediately after the union with Canada these reforms were carried out, and the province was placed on the same footing as all the other provinces.

The North-west Territories were governed at first as explained in paragraph 15. The powers conferred on the Legislative Assembly are the same as those conferred upon the other provinces by the 92nd section of the Union Act of 1867, excepting the borrowing of money on the sole credit of the Territories.

42. All the local or provincial constitutions are now, therefore, practically on an equality so far as the executive, legislative and all essential powers of self-government are concerned, and all of them have authority under the organic law to amend their constitutions, except as regards the office of Lieutenant-Governor. British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick (2) and the North-west Territories have only one House, which is elected by the people. In Prince Edward Island, which had two Houses until 1893, the two were in January, 1894, merged into one, but in that one certain members sit as Councillors, being elected by one set of electors, and certain other members sit as Assembly men, being elected by two sets of electors. The arrangement being peculiar, the following explanation is offered .—

Under the old law there were two houses, one called the legislative council, and the other the house of assembly. The legislative council consisted of thirteen members elected from certain large constituencies. The house of assembly consisted of thirty members elected from smaller constituencies. The legislative councillors were elected by voters who owned freehold or leasehold property to the value of \$324. The members of the house of assembly were elected practically by manhood suffrage, that is to say, there were a number of qualifications for the electors, such as property, occupation of land, and performance of statute labour, and taken altogether they practically amounted to manhood suffrage.

The purpose of the change made by the statute passed in 1893 was to amalgamate these two houses, and there is now one house, called the legislative assembly, consisting of thirty members. These thirty members were returned for fifteen constituencies, each constituency returning two members. One of these members, who is called a councillor, is returned by the votes of men who own property, freehold or leasehold, to the value of \$324, which is the same qualification as that for a member of the old

<sup>(2.)</sup> The Legislative Council of New Brunswick ceased to exist on the 28th September, 1892, having been abolished by Act of the Provincial Legislature.